Ig Nobel Prize: first laugh, then think


19:00 - 21:00

Grenaa Gymnasium, N.P. Josiassensvej 21, Grenaa

Marc Abrahams,
the founder of the Ig Nobel Prize,
and three price winners


Foredraget afholdes på engelsk


The Ig Nobel Prize is awarded for “peculiar research”
that at first makes us laugh and then think deeply.
Attend this lecture for a humour-filled dive into the
prize-winning research. Meet Marc Abrahams and
some of the recent prize winners.

Meet some of the researchers who have received
the alternative Nobel Prize – the Ig Nobel Prize.
It is hard to describe the Ig Nobel Prize and the
lectures of the price winners in particular –
you need to experience it.

The award ceremony takes place every year in a
blaze of publicity at a great gala ceremony at
Harvard University, USA and is orchestrated
by the founder of the prize, Marc Abrahams.

The Ig Nobel Prize highlights ten research results
of the year that are exceptionally creative, unlikely
and bizarre, though still serious. To put it in another
way: The prize is awarded to “peculiar research”
that initially makes us laugh and afterwards gives
us food for thought.

The prize covers a wide range of sciences, yet with
the main emphasis on natural science, medicine, and
social science. In general, the prizes are given to
respected and serious research that has been published
in peer-reviewed scientific journals.

The evening begins with a short lecture from the
founder, Marc Abrahams, who will talk about the prize,
the ceremony at Harvard University and some of the
recent prize winners and their research “which neither
can or should be repeated”. Later on, the three Ig Nobel
Prize winners
below will explain and perhaps demonstrate
their prize-winning achievements:

Sindre Eftestøl, Oslo University – for testing how reindeer
react to seeing humans who are disguised as polar bears
The research won The 2014 Ig Nobel Prize in Arctic

Eva Bertilsson – for using a simple animal-training
technique – called “clicker training” – to train surgeons
to perform orthopedic surgery
. The research won
The 2019 Ig Nobel Prize in Medical Education.

Peter Witzgall, University of Munich and University
of Swedish Agricultural Sciences – for demonstrating
that wine experts can reliably identify, by smell, the
presence of a single fly in a glass of wine
. The research
won The 2018 Ig Nobel Prize in Biology.

Warning: The lectures are not suitable for the humourless 🙂

Foredraget livestreames fra Aarhus Universitet i samarbejde med
Grenaa Gymnasium og Science and Technology, Aarhus Universitet

‘The Stinker’ is the official mascot of the Ig Nobel Prize.
The name ‘Ig Nobel Prize’ is a play on the words ignoble
(“characterized by baseness, lowness, or meanness”)
and the Nobel Prize. The journal Nature writes:
“The Ig Nobel awards are arguably the highlight of
the scientific calendar.”


BEMÆRK ved tilmelding:
Udfyld venligst felterne: Navn, Telefon og E-mail, så vi kan komme i kontakt med dig, hvis der sker ændringer i programmet.
Hvis du ikke har en email-adresse, skal du bruge denne: no@rep.ly

Norddjurs Folkeuniversitet
v/ Birgit Årsnes
Sommerlyst 55
8500 Grenaa
Tlf.: 8632 0885 / 23448014


Du er her: HomeArrangementIg Nobel Prize: first laugh, then think